Reader Problems Tag

1. You have 20,000 books in your TBR, how in the world do you decide what to read next?

Amy- I actually hate setting out what books I’m going to read next (usually the reason I end up abandoning my TBRs…) and I much prefer just picking up the book that excites me the most when I finish my current read.

Christie- Normally I plan out my TBR piles by dividing them into months (as I’m a bit of a control freak and need to organise everything) but this many books seem too much for even me to plan out strategically. I think for the first few years (….how did I even afford all of these books) I would just pick books from a pile randomly, taking recommendations from other people too, until I can organise the leftovers.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you put it down or are you committed?

Amy- I usually finish them when I can, but there are definitely some books I just haven’t managed to get through (Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood, and The Hand Maid’s Tale is proving difficult too, as well as Dorothy Must Die). Ultimately, there really is no reason for forcing yourself to read a book you can’t enjoy when there are bound to be so many better ones out there that you could read.

Christie- I’ll finish it- I have some rather strong feelings on books I’ve (sadly) already read and I always keep in mind when struggling through a book that however painful my current read is, it can’t be worse than them. I don’t like unfinished things and want to just completely forget books I don’t like, which I can only do with no ties left to it.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re behind on your reading challenge, do you try to catch up? And if so, how?

Amy- I’m going to be honest and say no, I probably wouldn’t force myself through books to make up for falling behind on a reading goal. As I have mentioned, I hate setting goals anyway, I think it takes out the freedom to read what you want as often as possible and I don’t find it enjoyable, and so I wouldn’t stress over one if I did fall behind.

Christie- Yes. I’m currently behind my goal for this year but I plan on using holidays and free weekends to cram in loads of reading- my summer holiday is really long this year and I’m really excited as I’m saving some of my most anticipated reads for this time.

4. The covers of a series you love do not match, how do you cope?

Amy- I don’t think this is a problem. My Series Of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket don’t all match, and I like that I have a variety of covers, and like both versions. If it did bother me- likely only because I disliked one of the versions, not just because they’re different- I’d buy the version of covers I like more so they all match.

Christie- This is a problem I currently have. I plan on buying the covers I prefer, just as soon as I can justify this to myself…..

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book that you do not. Who do you bond with over your shared feelings?

Amy- Christie. We normally have similar taste in books and I really dislike arguing over books, and I know we wouldn’t end up arguing even if our views where different. Books mean different things to different people though, and a part of me always dislikes discussing books in general, whether I like them or not, as I think it takes away from the individual experience.

Christie- I’ll probably talk to my sisters about it, but it really doesn’t bother me if I have differing opinions to someone, to me it makes things more interesting (I only dislike it if people get defensive).

6. You’re reading a book in public and you’re about to start crying. How do you deal?

Amy- I’d just cry.

Christie- Ummm… I feel I’m far too inexperienced to answer this question. I don’t often cry at books- I even recently just finished Poems To Make Grown Women Cry without shedding a tear once. At some points of this of course I got close, once when I was at college (internal panic rising) when I planned to simple hug my sister and let her laugh at me to take away the awkwardness… I clearly would deal very well….

7. The sequel to a book you loved just came out but you’ve forgotten a lot of what happens. Are you going to reread it?

Amy- I’d definitely plan too, and I definitely would not end up going through with it. Nothing equates to reading a favourite for the first time, and I’ve found that even with my favourites I dislike re-reading.

Christie- I HATE re-reading (I had to reread Frankenstein- one of my favorite books which is absolutely amazing- for college and didn’t even enjoy this) so no, I wouldn’t. Online summaries are pretty easy to find so I’d take this route.

8. You do not want anyone to borrow your books, how do you politely say no when someone asks?

Amy- I’d tell them I don’t lend books out to people, because in this scenario that would be the truth. Usually I really enjoy sharing my favourite books so this has never been a problem for me.

Christie- By telling the I’ve already lent it to someone else. Sadly I never regret this.

9. You have picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over this reading slump?

Amy- Mangas! I always find they’re the best solution for reading slumps, especially ones like Tokyo Ghoul that are fast-paced (the reason mangas solve slumps) but also have amazing character development and intricate plots that make me want to pick up a book again.

Christie- I realise only now how illogical my solution to this problem is. I’d pick up a book I know I have no chance of liking and would rather set alight than read- this way there won’t be any disappointments and I can clear my TBR so only books I want to read remain.

10. There are so many books coming out that you are dying to read, how many do you end up buying?

Amy- I’d probably make a list of them and buy the ones I was looking forward to the most first, and buy the rest when I’ve finished them and can afford it.

Christie- At the minute, none. This year my target is to read 75 books and I can almost do that with my current bookshelf plus 10 recommended books from my sisters, I don’t need more books and haven’t bought one in a while.

11. After you purchase all of these books that you’re dying to read how long do they sit on your shelves before you get to them?

Amy- As soon as I get back home I will have started it already 🙂

Christie-  Regardless of the fact I said I wasn’t buying them (I don’t appreciate how forced this question is feeling), they’d sit on my shelf for a pretty long time considering my 50+ TBR pile…

 

Leave a Reply

